May updates and Memorial Day Memories!

The past month was an extremely busy time for Matt and I. With the end of school, birthdays and holidays it seemed like before we knew it May had passed us by and we were already beginning June. Still just to keep our friends and family that live around the globe in on whats going on in our little families lives I would like to post some updates about what we have been up to for the last 30 days or so.

I officially finished my Practicum semester at U.K and will begin my Student Teaching semester this fall, which means that graduation is only 6 short months away!!  Though it can be a little overwhelming to think about Matt and I are both really looking forward to all the changes that will be taking place in our family come this winter and spring season! Until then though I have been keeping busy by spending my days with two of the most amazing kids in town. Finding the family that I am nannying for this summer really was such a huge blessing. It literally was given to me by God and has been one of the many life experiences where His provision has shown up in situations that others would say seemed impossible. But as we know nothing is impossible with Him and when you are in tune with His will He will provide what you need to follow the path He’s set out for you. I have also started studying for The Praxis II exam so that I will be certified when I graduate! I plan on taking, and passing, the exam this summer so that it’s one less thing that we have to think about when the rush of graduation gets here. I also got to gain some extra experience in the classroom by spending some time with my cooperating teacher and her wonderful class of kindergarteners on their last couple days of school as well as substitute teach for various schools in the Fayette County School District.

Rainy Days = fort days

Rainy Days = fort days

998609_10201388476217964_376070923_n

End of the week Ice Cream treat!

My May Baby turned 24 years old on May Day, or May 1st for those who are not familiar with the holiday. To celebrate one of the most important days of the year, to me, the day my hubby came into existence I figured I’d try and get creative and give him 24 different presents.. 1 present for every hour of his 24th birthday. For the most part these presents were just small sentimental things, like some homemade cookies for him to take to work, a sweet note in the morning telling how much he means to me, or a mini derby birthday pie since that was what he had been hankering for. I have found that those are the best type of gifts because it shows how much time you spend to get to know that person and what they like or dislike. I had also been saving up my personal money for months on end to buy Matt a grill for this summer. God was so good and truly blessed my patience and perseverance in savings, because when it came time to make the big purchase I was able to find a great deal on a close out Kenmore Stainless Steel grill, plus I was able to buy the floor model which meant that not only did we get a better price but it already came installed!

Matt with his 24 birthday presents: 1 present for every hour of the day on his 24th birthday lol

Matt with his 24 birthday presents: 1 present for every hour of the day on his 24th birthday.. and yes I did wrap each of them and labeled them with the specific time that he could open each one lol

Pretty syked about present #23 lol

Pretty syked about present #23 lol

Homemade cookies at the request of his crew and some red bull to celebrate his birthday at work

Homemade cookies at the request of his crew and some red bull to celebrate his birthday at work.

Of course I wasn’t the only person who wanted to celebrate my sweet hubby’s day of birth so the following weekend we went home to have a birthday dinner at the farm with both sides of the family. It was so wonderful to get to spend time with everyone and celebrate how Matt has added volumes to each of our lives and families. MomPom made Matts favorite dish, Chicken Divine, in honor of him, which was absolutely delicious and was well worth the extra calories that are expended on it every year 🙂 Then for dessert I was given the privilege of making his birthday cake, which just happened to be the first cake that I had ever attempted to make from scratch! Coincidentally we were celebrating the same night as the Kentucky Derby. So to go along with the theme, and in good Kentucky tradition, I figured I’d try and make a Kentucky Derby Cake, which turned out to be a pretty big hit! I also decorated Matt’s cake with 24 candles that were lined up to make the number 24 on the top of his cake.

24 candles arranged to make a #24 on the top of Matt's cake... little fun fact, next year I will have to buy two packs of candles for his 25th birthday because the store only sells them in sets of 24 lol

24 candles arranged to make a #24 on the top of Matt’s cake… little fun fact, next year I will have to buy two packs of candles for his 25th birthday because the store only sells them in sets of 24 lol

With the cake before singing happy birthday!!

With the cake before singing happy birthday!!

Hubby blowing out his candles.. sure hope he made a great wish, he definitely earned it!! lol

Hubby blowing out his candles.. sure hope he made a great wish, he definitely earned it!! lol

Toward the end of the summer we spent out Memorial Day Weekend camping, fishing and hiking at Rough River Dam in Rough River, Kentucky with family. It was the official Pomeroy Family Memorial Day Weekend Campout! We had such a great time cooking and sharing meals together, talking and telling one another our different hope and dreams, and just being in nature together! This was the first time that Matt and I had ever been camping together. We got to see a new side of one another and enjoy the experience of learning new things about what makes us, us! Coincidentally we found a new hobby together and are really looking forward to various back pack camping trips we have planned with each other as well as some amazing friends of ours! We are both true believers in always keeping current with your spouse, which means never thinking that you know everything there is to know about each other because there is always something new to learn and appreciate about your partner; and it definitely helps to keep the relationship interesting and fresh!

With our first family tent! It was just big enough for the two of us :)

With our first family tent! It was just big enough for the two of us 🙂

The man-folk fixin' up dinner lol

The man-folk fixin’ up dinner lol

Good ole' family time spent around delicious, wholesome meals!

Good ole’ family time spent around delicious, wholesome meals!

Having a fun time fishing.. even though every time I caught one it would some how wiggle it's little body off my hook right as I was about to pull it up on shore lol

Having a fun time fishing.. even though every time I caught one it would some how wiggle it’s little body off my hook right as I was about to pull it up on shore lol

Beautiful!

Beautiful Shore side spot where we got to fish both days! It was awesome!

Creek bed that we saw on our way to Morgans Cave.

Creek bed that we saw on our way to Morgans Cave.

The four of us at Morgans Cave

The four of us at Morgans Cave

Hiked over 6 miles to see this gorgeous view! It was well worth the wait!

Hiked over 6 miles to see this gorgeous view! It was well worth the wait!

The hubby and I at Valley Overlook

The hubby and I at Valley Overlook

Another cave that we found when we went off the beaten path

Another cave that we found when we went off the beaten path

Got to hold my favorite creation of all time!! A BUTTERFLY!!.. And it was yellow.. which is also one of my favorite colors! Yes, God is good to me :)

Got to hold my favorite creation of all time!! A BUTTERFLY!!.. And it was yellow.. which is also one of my favorite colors! Yes, God is good to me 🙂

The pyro's lol

The pyro’s lol

Picture with the campfire

Picture with the campfire

What can we say were newlyweds lol

What can we say were newlyweds lol

The rest of the month was just filled with enjoying each others company during the ins’ and outs’ of everyday life. We got to try out a fun little ice cream shop in the heart of downtown Lexington, KY with some wonderful friends of ours, called Savv’s Chill, and Matt would tell you that he highly recommends their Bourbon Ball Ice Cream lol. We also have been enjoying having dinner together again every night and really appreciating the time that we get to spend with one another during the week. Hope your summer is shaping up to be as fun filled and memorable as ours is in the Pomeroy house!

Much Love,

Blair

Leave a Reply

