26th Birthday Month

It’s been a couple months since Matt’s birthday and I still find myself thinking about how special of a celebration it was this year. Every year that someone turns a year older and we get to celebrate another year of life with that person is special in our family but year 26 for Matt was exponentially so! Like every year we planned a family birthday dinner as well as a whole month full of special little things that he enjoys, like crockpot chili for dinner, trips to the gun range and country music on the radio during road trips (which really isn’t much of a sacrifice on my part since we both are big country fans lol) to celebrate another year of life with Matt, but I can’t help but think about how pivotal this past year was for him as a person as well as our marriage and family as a whole, which for the two of us made it even more meaningful of a celebration. That and we announced the fact that we were pregnant with our little Sweet P before dinner that night, more to come on that fun announcement later on though! πŸ™‚

Heres this years birthday cake for my birthday man! Matt's requested this cake every year since I first concocted it just for him! We only indulge in it once a year too because I've vowed only to make it for my May Day Man on his birthday. It's his own little special slice of Kentucky Heaven that comes around once a year. :)

Heres this years birthday cake for my birthday man! Matt’s requested this cake every year since I first concocted it just for him! We only indulge in it once a year too because I’ve vowed only to make it for my May Day Man on his birthday. It’s his own little special slice of Kentucky Heaven that comes around once a year. πŸ™‚

The birthday man with most of his favorite women :)

The birthday man with most of his favorite women πŸ™‚

IMG_4132

Bringing out the birthday cake/singing happy birthday!!

Singing happy birthday, blowing out the candles and making a wish! :)

Singing happy birthday, blowing out the candles and making a wish! πŸ™‚

Opening presents! I bet you can guess what our favorite sports team is in The Pomeroy house! lol

Opening presents! I bet you can guess what our favorite sports team is in The Pomeroy house! lol

Hunting and The UK Wildcats! It doesn't get much more Kentucky or much more Matt Pomeroy then that right there :)

Hunting and The UK Wildcats! It doesn’t get much more Kentucky or much more Matt Pomeroy then that right there πŸ™‚

Hunting and The UK Wildcats! It doesn't get much more Kentucky or much more Matt Pomeroy then that right there :)

Carrieli got Matt the greatest gift a bunch of the old movies that they used to watch together growing up as kids! We have been taking a walk down memory lane during our at home movie date nights by watching them together. :)

Carrieli got Matt the greatest gift a bunch of the old movies that they used to watch together growing up as kids! We have been taking a walk down memory lane during our at home movie date nights by watching them together. πŸ™‚

This past year I have been honored to witnessed so much growth in Matt it’s hard to even find a place to begin. Β I have had the privilege to have a front row seat and watch him step out and start actively standing for the things he believes in. I have watched him answer Gods call and leave his comfort zone to pursue a better way of life for our family. I have seen the things he believes in put to the test by the actions of others and I have watched as he has shown the world by his actions what is most important to him by not backing down but instead diligently standing firm amidst adversity and pressure for what God has said is just and for what he knows it right. And during it all I’ve watched as the Holy Spirit shown through my husband because even in the most difficult of circumstances he handled his self Β by showing love in the most unloveable of situations, respect to those who were not acting very respectful and giving grace towards actions that were some of the most challenging things we have ever had to forgive. He stepped up this year to be the spiritual leader of our family, in action, by leading me by example to approach those circumstances with the same attitude in Christ. It’s been such an honor this year to watch my husband live out many of his marriage vows during times when it was not the easiest and for that I am so proud to be his wife. I’ve watched him protect, advocate and comfort me during wrongful, uncalled for persecution. I’ve been guided by Matt this year as we started over on our own path, and for the first time, in our marriage, having to make some tough choices, but choosing to do what was best for our family by truly leaving burdens in God’s hands, setting healthy boundaries, forgiving, always loving and still praying but moving on.

In past years it was easier to enact the leave and cleave principle in God’s word. This year though, when the rubber hit the road still following through and choosing God, each other and what is right for our little family of 3 (now!!) no matter what the cost holds more meaning, more depth then in previous years. I guess it’s because when the going is easy and there is no conflict it’s simple to choose God and one another. It’s when you have to choose Him and each other instead of something or someone else, in the midst of the fire, that true family it forged, true unity in The Lord is bound.Β Β Through all of this it has been an honor to see God take Matt to this new level in their relationship together and I feel more blessed then ever to have him as my best friend, my protector, my provider, my closest confidant, my spiritual leader, my shoulder to lean on/weather the storm with no matter what this life brings; my husband.

Much love & prayer,

Blair

 

Leave a Reply

