What I Want My Daughter To Know About Beauty.

Two things about me.

  1. I love beauty and I love to make things beautiful whether that be our family, our home, our memories or who I am as a person.
  2. I love to journal. I have had journals since I was literally in Kindergarten, though when I was that little they were just pictures of how I was feeling or what I wanted to express instead of words. I have a journal for pretty much every season of my life and I love to look back over what I was going through and how God grew me during that part of my journey with Him. That being said I have multiple journals for Annabelle lol. I have a pregnancy journal that tracked her pregnancy from the moment we found out to the day she was born and I share it with anyone and everyone who wants to see it. And I have a prayer journal from when I was pregnant with her that I kept and would record weekly prayers, scripture verses and thoughts for her in from each week of my pregnancy with her and it is only shared between me, Annabelle, Matt and God.
img_3146

The Pink Peonies from our garden this spring. These are so beautiful to me. They are my favorite flower along with Blue Hydrangeas.

I was looking through that journal the other night and re-reading the different things that were on my heart for my daughter, my husband and our family and I came across this passage I had wrote about beauty and my thoughts on it. What I was feeling and thinking then still rings true today. It’s a message that I never want to forget and I truly want Annabelle to remember when she thinks about what beauty is; what makes something beautiful; what makes her beautiful.

I’ve went back and forth about sharing it for the sake of privacy and keeping that line in my family and in my relationship with my daughter. Because some things are meant just for me and her. And I am not going to share the entire entry but I think that sharing a part of it could be a beautiful thing because it could remind those today who need a reminder that you (yes you!) are beautiful just the way you are! And it’s not because of your hair color, eye color, skin color, muscle definition or dress size. It’s not because of your intelligence, talents, ability to accomplish goals, dreams or desires. The reason is so much more deeper and richer than any of those things.
So bare with me because it’s raw. It’s just my thoughts being written down.

“My sweet daughter, beauty is more about character than it ever will be about appearance. Kindness is beautiful. being loving to those who aren’t loving to you is beautiful. Giving grace and showing mercy is beautiful. Being forgiving.. and patient.. and sensitive to others is beautiful. Knowing that God created you perfectly – He didn’t make a mistake when He made you – in His image and therefore you are a one of a kind masterpiece is beautiful.”

True beauty isn’t external, it’s internal. True beauty doesn’t fade with time or age. True beauty remains pure and unchanged. True beauty is how you treat others and yourself. Are you kind? Are you Thoughtful? Are you compassionate, generous and gentle toward those around you and yourself? True beauty is treating every life with respect and dignity. It’s putting others before yourself. It’s knowing in our externally obsessed culture that imperfection, realness and flaws is beautiful because of who created us. Because of whose image we bear.

A beautifully, imperfect moment with our family last night. Not one stitch of makeup, dirty hair pulled back in braids from spending the day with my sweet daughter and some equally sweet kiddos, and there's definitely reminense of crusty, dried yogurt and baby spit up somewhere on my shirt I am positive of that! lol There's not one perfectly pristine posed picture in the bunch. Our faces are far from frozen and each one is full of different expressions and that is what makes them SO good. The realness of them. The raw love, joy and other emotions we feel together when we're just being together. These are the moments turn into memories. These are the faces that form smile lines and wrinkles which are proof of a life lived well, not a lived out life. This is beauty in my book.

A beautifully, imperfect moment with our family last night. Not one stitch of makeup, dirty hair pulled back in braids from spending the day with my sweet daughter and some equally sweet kiddos, and there’s definitely reminense of crusty, dried yogurt and baby spit up somewhere on my shirt I am positive of that! lol There’s not one perfectly pristine posed picture in the bunch. Our faces are far from frozen and each one is full of different expressions and that is what makes them SO good. The realness of them. The raw love, joy and other emotions we feel together when we’re just being together. These are the moments turn into memories. These are the faces that form smile lines and wrinkles which are proof of a life lived well, not a lived out life. This is beauty in my book.

Much love & prayer,
Blair

Leave a Reply

